Institut für Theoretische Physik E RWTH Aachen

Physikalisches Institut, Theory Department University of Bonn

Helmholtz Alliance Fellowship

The Institute of Theoretical Physics at the RWTH Aachen and the Theory Group at the Physikalisches Institute of the University of Bonn are seeking applicants for a **Helmholtz Alliance Fellowship** in theoretical particle physics, with a particular emphasis on the phenomenology of physics beyond the Standard Model at the LHC. The appointment is for four years to begin in the fall 2008 and is funded by the Strategic Helmholtz Alliance "Physics at the Terascale"*.

The Fellowship is hosted by both the Institute of Theoretical Physics at the RWTH Aachen and the Physikalisches Institut of the University of Bonn and is aiming to further strengthen the established cooperation between both institutions. A close collaboration with the experimental ATLAS and CMS groups at Aachen and Bonn is envisaged.

The Theoretical Physics groups of Aachen and Bonn cover a broad range of topics from collider phenomenology to model building. The Particle Theory Group at Aachen currently consists of Martin Beneke, Werner Bernreuther, Michael Krämer, Peter Zerwas, Jiri Jersak, Lalit Sehgal, ten postdoctoral fellows, and a number of doctoral and diploma students. The interests of the group include a wide range of topics in particle physics phenomenology and field theory (LHC phenomenology, B-meson, Higgs and top quark physics, CP violation, strong interactions, extensions of the standard model), and in general relativity and cosmology. The Particle Theory Group is part of the Sonderforschungsbereich/Transregio "Computational Particle Physics", the Helmholtz Alliance "Physics at the Terascale", and various EU Marie Curie Research Training Networks.

The Theoretical Particle Physics Group at Bonn University currently consists of Manuel Drees, Herbi Dreiner, Albrecht Klemm, Hans-Peter Nilles, ten postdoctoral fellows and a number of doctoral and diploma students. The interests of the group include a wide range of topics in beyond the Standard Model physics and field theory (supersymmetry phenomenology, model building, links to astroparticle physics and mathematical physics, string model building). The Particle Theory group is part of the Sonderforschungsbereich/Transregio TR33 "The Dark Universe", the Helmholtz Alliance "Physics at the Terascale", and various EU Marie Curie Research Training Networks.

Interested candidates are requested to submit their CV, description of professional experience, a statement about past and planned research activities by 31 December 2007. Applications (preferably via email) as well as two letters of recommendation should be sent to Prof. Ian C. Brock (Scientific Manager of the Helmholtz Alliance) DESY, Notkestrasse 85, D-22607 Hamburg (Email Ian.Brock@desy.de). For further information please contact Profs. Michael Krämer (Email mkraemer@physik.rwth-aachen.de) and Herbi Dreiner (Email dreiner@th.physik.uni-bonn.de).

* The Strategic Helmholtz Alliance "Physics at the Terascale" (http://www.terascale.de) is a research network supported by the Helmholtz Association and comprises the research centres DESY and FZ Karlsruhe, 17 German Universities, and the Max-Planck Institute for Physics. Within the framework of the worldwide investigation of the fundamental properties of matter using accelerators at the highest energies, the Alliance will sustainably concentrate and advance the expertise and strengths of the participating institutes.